Fashion: Gareth Pugh

by charlottewootten

The last design on the right shows my inspiration from the city.

The last design on the right shows my inspiration from the city.

My finished design with influence from Gareth Pugh and city lights and avenues.

My finished design with influence from Gareth Pugh and city lights and avenues.

Pugh’s Spring/Summer 2012 collection

This week I designed a body adornment which would help the body adapt to a futuristic environment. I was firstly inspired by a bird’s eye view of a city, with the lights and the geometric avenues. After drawing some designs, I wanted to have a clearer idea of how to construct my designs into a real piece, so I looked at Gareth Pugh’s work.

Pugh’s striking designs are also very simplistic, with geometric lines and one shade of colour (either black or white) which allows the design to really stand out from the model’s body. I think that the use of monochromatic colours emphasises the perfect simplicity of the shapes and the sharp edges adjusts the shape of the human form and lengthens the torso and arms.

I also admire the styling of Pugh’s catwalk show. The model’s hair is slicked back so no attention is taken away from the design and the makeup is also very strong and geometric, complementing the outfit perfectly.

My finished design was made from a single sheet of black card with acetate on the back to make the piece more sturdy. I decided to keep the design simplistic by using one shade of black and using a minimum amount of varied materials. I also kept all of the lines the same width to make sure that the design was striking like Pugh’s geometric designs. In future I think that I could experiment with other materials such as foam which would be flexible and be able to mould to the body.

